top of page

Resources

Professional:
American Physical Therapy Association (APTA): www.apta.org

APTA Pediatrics: https://pediatricapta.org/

Physical Activity: 

CDC Physical Activity Guidelines: https://www.cdc.gov/physicalactivity/resources/recommendations.html

Physical Activity in Children: https://www.cdc.gov/physicalactivity/basics/children/

Be Active Kids: http://www.beactivekids.org/

 

Sports and Recreation:

Bridge II Sports: https://www.bridge2sports.org/

North Carolina Adaptive Sports: https://www.ncadaptedsports.org/

Special Olympics of North Carolina: https://sonc.net/

Miracle League: https://www.miracleleague.com/

Spirit League: https://www.spiritleague.online/

 

Early Intervention Information:

North Carolina Infant Toddler Program: https://beearly.nc.gov/

 

School-Based Information: 

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction Parent Resources: https://www.dpi.nc.gov/districts-schools/classroom-resources/exceptional-children/parent-resources

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (Part B): https://www.parentcenterhub.org/schoolage/

Disability Resources: 

Disability Rights of North Carolina: https://disabilityrightsnc.org/

Community Alternatives Program for Children (CAP/C): https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-and-services/long-term-care/community-alternatives-program-children-capc

Community Alternative Program for Disabled Adults (CAP/D): https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-and-services/long-term-care/community-alternatives-program-disabled-adults-capda

Mental Health

Easterseal UCP: https://eastersealsucp.com/

Carolina Outreach: https://www.carolinaoutreach.com/

Community Partnerships : https://www.communitypartnerships.org/

Family Assistance: 

NC Department of Health and Human Services: https://www.ncdhhs.gov/

Low Income Services: https://www.ncdhhs.gov/assistance/low-income-services

The Arc of North Carolina: https://www.arcnc.org/

Family Support Network of North Carolina: https://fsnnc.org/?q=home

Affordable Connectivity Program: https://www.affordableconnectivity.gov/: U.S. federal program to help low-income households with internet service and phone services. Those who qualify may include those who receive benefits like SNAP, Medicaid, WIC, or Free and Reduced-Price Lunch.

Some local service providers include

Wireless Phone Services: 

Life Wireless: https://www.lifewireless.com/

QLink Wireless: https://qlinkwireless.com/

Assurance Wireless: https://www.assurancewireless.com/lifeline-services/states/north-carolina-lifeline-free-government-phone-service

bottom of page